Bijapur Travel and Tourism Guide

Bijapur  is one of the largest districts in Karnataka state. Bijapur has many places of historical, cultural and architectural interest mainly related to Islamic architecture. Bijapur district is located in the northwest part of the state of Karnataka state and it is 613 km from Bangalore city. Bijapur district is bounded by Solapur district of Maharashtra on the north and Sangli Maharashtra on the north-west, by the district of Belgaum on the west, Bagalkote on the south, Gulburga on the East and by Raichur on the south-east. Bijapur district consists of 5 taluks namely Basavana Bagewadi, Bijapur, Indi, Muddebihal and Sindgi. The former southern taluks of the district were separated in 1997 to form Bagalkot district. The history of bijapur  goes back to the early medieval period. Bijapur was called as Vijayapura (the city of victory) between 10th and 11th century when the Chalukyan rulers of South India laid the foundation of Bijapur. Bijapur came under Muslim influence, first under Allaudin Khilji, the Sultan of Delhi, captured it and made it a part of his empire towards the end of the 13th century, and then under the Bahamani empire in 1347. Bijapur owes much of its greatness to Yusuf Adil Shah, the founder of the independent state of Bijapur. The rule of this dynasty ended in 1686, when Bijapur was conquered by the Mirza raja Jai Singh of Amber under during the reign of Mughal emperor Aurangzeb. There are a number of places to visit around Bijapur. The temple town of Aihole (110 Km), Pattadakal (134 Km) and Badami (120 Km) represent Chalukyan architecture at its best. Basavana Bagevadi (43 km) is known for the birthplace of Saint Basaveshwara. There are several important temples here. Kundalasangama (67 Km), is an important pilgrim center and it is associated with the 12th-century poet and social reformer Saint Basaveshwara. Bijapur is famous for its hand woven Ilkal sarees.

Phone Area Code
City Area(km)